Curvy in black & White

One word: CHRISTINA HENDRICKS
She goes against so many Hollywood  "must be skinny" rules to making it big in (no pun intended). She has real boobs, real butt and rocks it 100%. She has pale skin and is reddest of the red heads completely going against the tanned, blonde bombshell theory. And she was made the "Best Looking Woman in America" (by esquire magazine).

MY TAKE:
Now some of you may think I'm silly for recognizing a white woman for her curves instead of given props to a latina or black woman. However I think she is a good example of how far we have come and women loving their curves. Yes we have Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, JLo, America Ferrera, and I'm sure you can name a few more. But if you take a look at their careers you'll notice that all these curvy women have lost weight to fit into the Hollywood standards. Not saying that its a bad thing to want to lose weight but for me -Christina Hendricks has stood true to herself. When all those agents and people told her she could lose "10 more pounds" she refused to do so. I think the crazy part for me is that she's not a big girl at all. In fact for us normal & average girls she's one 'skinny bitch.' None the less she's loving her curves and I'm lovin her for that!

Double Standards for Double Ds


WATCH THIS AD:


THEN WATCH THIS AD:


Which add do YOU think is more revealing than the next?
The Lane Bryant ad has stirred up major controversy for being "too riskay" for ABC & Fox. The two networks refused to air their spot during their prime time family hour. But Victoria's Secret commercials will be keep playing.   Some say it's the message that Lane Bryant sends out. Other say the Lane Bryan spot is in fact too revealing and its a publicity stunt to make news.

MY TAKE:
Being a voluptuous woman myself (especially up top) I'll admit I'm a bit bias.
1) it's okay for a skinny girl to sex up a wall or roll around on a bed, but a full figured woman cannot get sexy for her man?
2)  does a skinny girl in a push up bra really show any less boobage than the full figured girl?
3) lets ee if I understand this -the full figured LB model throws on a trench over her panties to meet someone for lunch while the girl in VS ad opens the door to her someone in a hotel room during the day...and the LB ad is the only one with a wrong message here? CLEARLY!

Maybe our society has not come that far from our size 8 "plus" size, jenny craig promoting, jessica simpson is soo fat antics afterall. I mean in a time where a curvy woman who is NOT latina or black gets named Sexiest Woman in America, (Christina Hendricks) do we still find full figured women not worthy to get the same "sexy" label as a thin blonde w/ a boob job.  My mistake. Whether its a publicity stunt or not I think it's a step backwards in society when major networks think that us big girls don't deserve to be sold sexy underwear. I mean that is the bottom line here. It's ad to sell underwear. And is it just me or does any woman, regardless of size, who is only wearing on tv still considered revealing? WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Why Wait?



If love is there and you think that this is the person that you’re going to end up with- do you wait until you’re ready for the ideal relationship? or do you live in the present?

I found myself conversation with someone about their “non existing” relationship. They broke up with their girlfriend for over a year. However they talk on phone and via email all the time. They share a “special bond” so much so that they still tell each other they love one another...how there’s no one out there. BUT they don’t want to be together. They are waiting for the “right time.”

My take:
Alicia keys said it best: "This is exactly how it should feel when its meant to be. Time is only wasting so why wait for eventually. If we gonna do something about it. We should do it right now.”

I find that we are always looking for something better. We have a man but we want a rich man. We have a rich man but we want a gorgeous man. We have a gorgeous man but we want a funny man. I mean if you love someone and feel that they love you to -at some point you have to accept the flaws. If you sit there and think that there's a magic world you will go flying off into the sunset on a magic carpet....until that actually happens then you’re wasting your time. We hear the cliché all the time – LIFE IS TOO SHORT. But why do we always just say that when someone dies. Why can’t we say that when we come across someone that is your best friend, someone that gets you, someone that holds conversations with you? Are you really too scared to be together?. if you were hurt by this person before sure there is hesitation but if you love this person and are continuing to hold onto to them waiting for the right time....then there may never be a right time.

Head's Up













Heard on the radio that a girl’s friend gave her a heads up that her boyfriend was going to propose. However this girl did not want to marry her BF of 2 years even though they were about to move in together. According to her the Dilemma: should she tell her boyfriend before he proposes she doesn’t want to get married or wait until he does it and says no??

My take:
First - the dilemma isn’t really whether to tell the boyfriend before he proposes. I think the REAL dilemma is you and your boyfriend are on 2 completely different pages. How about you communicate with your man bc he obviously thinks your relationship is going in one direction but for you its in another. 2nd – if you wait & say no to your man after he proposes you will definitely not have the same dynamic in the relationship.

MY TAKE


There are times that I hear something or have conversations with people and it brings up a good topic for discussion. So I thought it would be cool to start bring those topics to a blog. Whether I have readers or not it's just a way for me to express my opinions, topics, pictures, videos that I come across that spark my interest. So here it is a blog that I share my thoughts and views on things. If not for anyone else it’ll be cool to look back on this 20 years from now and see where my head was at.


Disclaimer: these are MY opinions. If you don’t agree express it. I’m always up for a good debate!!